[DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Thomas Eitel
Posts: 46
Joined: 16 Oct 2013, 10:37
Location: Austria

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by Thomas Eitel »

hi,

i think you wired them the wrong way, the 1. digit is always the most left one!
so on the picture i posted above digit nr1 is the first from the left and digit nr6 is the first from the right side.
regards
thomas
User avatar
Midnight
Posts: 751
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 21:37
Location: Perth scotland
Contact:

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by Midnight »

DennieT wrote:Hi there.
Need some help. I purchased Simioboard and Simio Displaycard. Wired everything with standard IDE cable. Firmware is 1.7. Now everything on the displays seems the other way round:
Instead oft 711 it shows 117!?! When i change the end digit, the number goes the right way forward and back. What could be wrong?
Hi Dennie, not sure how you connected the 7 segment displays but if you have used ide cable to ide cable you might have wired them round the wrong way
(see pictures) on the simio display board pin 1 is at the bottom right on the same side as the connector cutout if you have used ide cable female to female when you turn over the ide cable to connect your display the cutout and pin 1 move to the left (see picture) this would explain your problem

regards Graham
Attachments
simio display out2.jpg
simio display out2.jpg (41.99 KiB) Viewed 3850 times
simio display out.jpg
Image
DennieT
Posts: 114
Joined: 26 Jun 2011, 19:57

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by DennieT »

Graham,
thanks for your Support. But I do not understand. If, as may IDE is the other way round, then Segment Pins (a,b,c,d,e,f,g) would have been changed as well. But this seems to be not the case.
I am frustrated, as logically the fault is hard to find.....

I used the PCB for 6 7segment Display by Hispapanels. I welded the Lucklights Segment Displays on the PCB.
This one i connected with Standard IDE 20 pin flat cable to the Display Card as shown in their tutorial.

Dennie
User avatar
Midnight
Posts: 751
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 21:37
Location: Perth scotland
Contact:

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by Midnight »

DennieT wrote:Graham,
thanks for your Support. But I do not understand. If, as may IDE is the other way round, then Segment Pins (a,b,c,d,e,f,g) would have been changed as well. But this seems to be not the case.
I am frustrated, as logically the fault is hard to find.....

I used the PCB for 6 7segment Display by Hispapanels. I welded the Lucklights Segment Displays on the PCB.
This one i connected with Standard IDE 20 pin flat cable to the Display Card as shown in their tutorial.

Dennie
Hi, If you wire abcdefg in the wrong position the displays will still work because these are the display positions and as long as you don't mix up abcdefg with 123456 everything will work but wrong, also check you have soldered the 7 segment displays on the correct side of the circuit board they should be soldered with the displays on top of the paint outline marked on the board you might have soldered it upside down if OK can you send some pictures



Cheers graham
Image
DennieT
Posts: 114
Joined: 26 Jun 2011, 19:57

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by DennieT »

Hi Graham,

sorry for late reply due to christmas days.. ;)

This is how I welded the segment display on the PCB:
Image

This is the connection diagramm of the Luckylights:
Image

And this is the IDE cable:
Image
User avatar
Midnight
Posts: 751
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 21:37
Location: Perth scotland
Contact:

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by Midnight »

Hi,looking at the pictures you sent it looks like it could be the cable the red tracer should be pin1 your cable looks wrong I think when you connect it it will be at the wrong side see pictures the square pin on the circuit board for the display is pin 1 this is the same for the simio board just make sure pin 1 goes to pin 1

Hope This Helps

Graham
Attachments
simio display pin1.jpg
1211-thickbox_default.jpg
When this is connected it will be wrong
When this is connected it will be wrong
Pin1.jpg
Image
DennieT
Posts: 114
Joined: 26 Jun 2011, 19:57

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by DennieT »

Hi Graham,

It is getting mysterious. Now I wired the display direct - pin for pin.
The result is the same unfortunely. Wrong wiring is shuted out.
Can the problem be in the Firmware?
I am using 1.7.
The support of Simioboard is not existing. Nobody is helping there...
Thanks for your support, Graham!
Dennie
User avatar
Midnight
Posts: 751
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 21:37
Location: Perth scotland
Contact:

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by Midnight »

Hi Dennie, I have updated my firmware to 1.7 and everything is ok with my displays

Graham
Image
User avatar
Midnight
Posts: 751
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 21:37
Location: Perth scotland
Contact:

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by Midnight »

Hi Dennie,check this post http://prosim737.com/forum/viewtopic.ph ... =10#p40183" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
the wiring here for the display is not the same as the wiring you have did you get the display and circuit board from hispapanels ?

Graham
Attachments
Led.jpg
SimIO%20connections.png
SimIO%20connections.png (136.18 KiB) Viewed 3790 times
Image
DennieT
Posts: 114
Joined: 26 Jun 2011, 19:57

Re: [DEV-122] simio board and encoder's

Post by DennieT »

ok, as you can see via the picture, the testing - program shows everything is in good order!!!
It does not matter if wired direct or via PCB. Both working fine.
Image
So the problem seems to be located in Prosim software.
In a German Forum some other guy could confirm the problem.

Hanne and Team, please check this issue!

Graham, something have to be different at your rig if its working correct.

Dennie
Post Reply

Return to “Hispapanels / SimIO boards”