305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post Reply
User avatar
willow
Posts: 2316
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: YMHB. Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by willow »

Hello

Using 305b17. However, the problem also occurs in 305.

There is a very long lag with the SimWorld MCP. The course knobs are very slow to rotate the course display in the MCP windows (the speed is OK on the PFD). Additionally, the autothrottle will not disengage immediately when the AT buttons are pushed on the throttle (it stays on in the MCP, but disengages in the software). The backlit buttons on the MCP are also delayed when selecting a command (for example autopilot or VNAV).

The problems begin when airborne. On the ground everything works OK.

I checked the monitoring tab in IOS when on the ground the I/O tab reads 3-4 ms (green), however, once airborne this I/O tab reads 10-14 ms (amber).

I initially thought the issue may be associated with WIN 10 updates so I rolled the updates backwards. I also reinstalled ProSim and transferred the MCP to another USB port. Nothing resolves the issue.

It seems the issue revolves around the ProSim reading the SimWorld MCP. :?:

WilloW
log-System.txt
(54.35 KiB) Downloaded 37 times
Last edited by willow on 04 May 2021, 10:11, edited 1 time in total.
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺 Always
https://www.flaps2approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)
User avatar
willow
Posts: 2316
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: YMHB. Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands

Post by willow »

Hello

Does anyone know of a solution to resolve this problem.

The MCP is connected to the server that runs ProSim and P3D.

I have done the following;

Reinstalled ProSim
Removed updates (rolled back)
Changed USB port that SimWorld MCP is connected to
Replaced Ethernet cable between server and client computer
replaced USB cable between MCP and computer

At the moment, the sim is inoperable due to the lag in the MCP.

As stated in my first post, everything is OK on the ground. The problem only develops after being airborne.

Thank you, WilloW
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺 Always
https://www.flaps2approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)
User avatar
willow
Posts: 2316
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: YMHB. Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands

Post by willow »

Removed W10 20H2 update.

Removal "appears" to have resolved the issue, WilloW
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺 Always
https://www.flaps2approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 4710
Joined: 14 Jun 2011, 11:21
Location: Nederland - Vlissingen
Contact:

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by dvincent »

So it appears to be a driver problem.
Regards,
Dirk

Image
User avatar
willow
Posts: 2316
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: YMHB. Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by willow »

dvincent wrote: 07 May 2021, 19:18 So it appears to be a driver problem.
Hi Dirk

I guess so. Works perfectly since removing the update. In future when updating I will try to not install W10 20H2.

Assuming it is a driver issue with this update, should not ProSim know about this as the SimWorld driver is generic. Also it's odd that others did not also come across this issue, WilloW ✈️

PS- I have never been a lover of computers.....☝️
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺 Always
https://www.flaps2approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)
User avatar
dvincent
Posts: 4710
Joined: 14 Jun 2011, 11:21
Location: Nederland - Vlissingen
Contact:

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by dvincent »

Hi Willow,
it could be an idea to check the website of the manufacturer of the motherboard to check whether they have new drivers.
Regards,
Dirk

Image
bobs737
Posts: 25
Joined: 29 Jan 2017, 14:16

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by bobs737 »

Hi, I just saw this post and wondered if you are still running without a lag? I ask because I have had the lag problem for well over a year if not more and before the W10 20H2 update so the problem must be something else for me at least.

Thanks,
Bob
User avatar
willow
Posts: 2316
Joined: 20 Jul 2011, 14:24
Location: YMHB. Van Diemen's Land, Terra Australis
Contact:

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by willow »

bobs737 wrote: 27 Nov 2021, 17:52 Hi, I just saw this post and wondered if you are still running without a lag? I ask because I have had the lag problem for well over a year if not more and before the W10 20H2 update so the problem must be something else for me at least.

Thanks,
Bob
Hello Bob

The problem still occurs from time to time, but is not as prevalent as it was when running the W update. If the problem occurs, it begins after start up of the computers and flightsim and not during an actual flight. I find that if I restart the computers the lag usually goes away.

I have no idea what the issue is. However, as the problem starts immediately after the computers start and I turn on flightsim, I assume it may something to do with W10 and updates or how they interact with the drivers. My computer knowledge is not good enough to to troubleshoot further.

I ended up removing all unnecessary updates. This has more or less resolved the issue. I also removed the latest NViDIA driver and rolled back to an earlier driver

Hopefully W11 will behave better than W10.

Regards, WilloW
WilloW (YMHB) 🇦🇺 Always
https://www.flaps2approach.com
Realism using OEM parts ✈️
Avatar: "Miss Tara Black Dog" (sadly missed....RIP Nov 2013)
bobs737
Posts: 25
Joined: 29 Jan 2017, 14:16

Re: 305b17 and 305 - LAG in SimWorld MCP commands (RESOLVED)

Post by bobs737 »

My Simworld lag disappeared after installing the P3D V5.3 hotfix. The Simworld mcp response is immediate. I hope that works for you and others.
Post Reply

Return to “ProSimB738 - Technical support - software related”