Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

FaustoP
Posts: 45
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 08:17

Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by FaustoP »

Hello,

Just upgraded to the lates Flight Model and suddenly when I turn on the beacon lights I see flashes in the sky all around. This happens both in the ground or when airborne, no difference.

I just installed the model and changed my default scenery by selecting the new model (Lufthansa variant).

Am I doing something wrong or did I miss any step?

I'm using P3D V4.5.

Thanks for your support,

Best Regards.
Lapi
Posts: 2951
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by Lapi »

FaustoP wrote: 30 Jun 2020, 09:44 Just upgraded to the lates Flight Model and suddenly when I turn on the beacon lights I see flashes in the sky all around. This happens both in the ground or when airborne, no difference.
I just installed the model and changed my default scenery by selecting the new model (Lufthansa variant).
Am I doing something wrong or did I miss any step?
I'm using P3D V4.5.
The installer should install different effect files for 4.x and 5.x.
Most probably somehow they got mixed up, although the installer gives a different set if you select 4.x.

Can you tell me the date of your fx_ProsimA320_beacon1.fx and fx_ProsimA320_beacon2.fx files?

regards
Lapi
FaustoP
Posts: 45
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 08:17

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by FaustoP »

Hi Lapi,

Every file in the effects folder seems to be dated 01.11.2019 00:10 except for:
fx_ProsimA320_navwhite.fx dated 06.05.2020 23:10

also the files in the "texture" subfolder are still dated 01.11.2019 00:10

Thanks for your support,

Best Regards
Lapi
Posts: 2951
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by Lapi »

FaustoP wrote: 30 Jun 2020, 12:50 Every file in the effects folder seems to be dated 01.11.2019 00:10 except for:
fx_ProsimA320_navwhite.fx dated 06.05.2020 23:10
also the files in the "texture" subfolder are still dated 01.11.2019 00:10
Then they should be all right, so I have no idea what's going on.
Can you please try modifying one of your effects (fx_ProsimA320_beacon1.fx preferably) and see if reducing the size of the effect makes any change?

Try to find all X Scale=x.00, x.00, Y Scale=x.00, x.00 and Z Scale=x.00, x.00 and PROPORTIONALLY reduce their values to their half or so.
If a value is zero, don't touch it.

regards
Lapi
FaustoP
Posts: 45
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 08:17

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by FaustoP »

Ok will test it.

Could it also be something with my P3D settings? Some sort of reflection?

On the lighting page I have:
HDR lighting enabled and all values set to 1
Dynamic reflections LOW
Dynamic Lighting SELECTED
Landing lights illuminate ground SELECTED
Display lens flare SELECTED

Shadow quality MEDIUM
Shadow draw distance LOW

Cast/Receiving
Internal & External vehicles both CAST and RECEIVE
Lapi
Posts: 2951
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by Lapi »

FaustoP wrote: 30 Jun 2020, 14:31 Could it also be something with my P3D settings? Some sort of reflection?
No, all of your settings are fine.

regards
Lapi
FaustoP
Posts: 45
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 08:17

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by FaustoP »

Hello Lapi,

Did the test but didn't sort it out.

By switching to an external camera I noticed not only a red light (beacon) flashes when I select beacon light on the overhead panel, but also a strong white light which seems more like a strobe than a beacon. I think this is causing the problem.

I made a short video with my phone (just 4 seconds). Hope the link works.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/oweolhpotori2 ... 5.mp4?dl=0

This is done in preflight phase, APU on, only NAV & Beacon lights on. Strobe, taxi, landing and RWY turnoff OFF

Tried to delete instances 0, 1 and 2 separately in fx_ProsimA320_beacon1.fx but no change in the white light, only the red one (as expected).
Lapi
Posts: 2951
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by Lapi »

FaustoP wrote: 01 Jul 2020, 10:17 Did the test but didn't sort it out.

By switching to an external camera I noticed not only a red light (beacon) flashes when I select beacon light on the overhead panel, but also a strong white light which seems more like a strobe than a beacon. I think this is causing the problem.

I made a short video with my phone (just 4 seconds). Hope the link works.
This is done in preflight phase, APU on, only NAV & Beacon lights on. Strobe, taxi, landing and RWY turnoff OFF
Tried to delete instances 0, 1 and 2 separately in fx_ProsimA320_beacon1.fx but no change in the white light, only the red one (as expected).
Hi,

Quite miraculous...
I can see the white one on your video but frankly no clue what it could be.

Just out of curiosity: what happens if you copy fx_ProsimA320_beacon2.fx into fx_ProsimA320_beacon1.fx?
Asking because the lower one seems to be fine on the video.

regards
Lapi
FaustoP
Posts: 45
Joined: 02 Mar 2014, 08:17

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by FaustoP »

This is what happens:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l62ixeow12s10 ... 3.mp4?dl=0

also, I see the fuselage doesn't get any light in the night and it's completely dark. Quite strange.

Maybe some kind of conflict with the previous version of the flight model?
Lapi
Posts: 2951
Joined: 26 Nov 2011, 02:00

Re: Beacon Lights make the whole sky flashing

Post by Lapi »

FaustoP wrote: 01 Jul 2020, 11:50 also, I see the fuselage doesn't get any light in the night and it's completely dark. Quite strange.
Maybe some kind of conflict with the previous version of the flight model?
Really strange.
The previous model had very different effect names, so I have no idea how it may conflict.
But there is no doubt that there is a white strobe-light in the place of the red beacon, I just can't figure it how it happens...

regards
Lapi
Post Reply

Return to “ProSimA320 - ProSimA320 Flight Model”